Community Headlines Local Elections Local News

Majority of incumbents reelected to Genesee County Board of Commissioners

Written by Tanya Terry

According to unofficial results from the Genesee County Clerk’s Office, voters are returning the majority of incumbent commissioners to their seats. These commissioners include Bryant Nolden (D) for District 1, Charles Winfrey (D) for District 2; Ellen Ellenburg (D) for District 3, Domonique Clemons (D). for District 4, James Avery (D) for District 5 and Shaun Shumaker (R) for District 6.

Former Commissioner Martin L. Cousineau who is a Democrat, was elected for District 7. Cousineau beat Republican Incumbent Lynn Culver.

Former Flint City Council member Dale Weighill, who is also a Democrat, beat Republican Incumbent Meredith Davis for District 8 commissioner.

Democrat Michelle Davis beat Republican Sue Hopper in District 9.

So, not only were the majority of incumbents reelected, but Democrats gained ground because of the Genesee County Board of Commissioners election Nov. 8.

According to the Genesee County website, the Board of Commissioners is the governing board and policy-making body of county government. The website site adds many of its powers, duties and responsibilities are prescribed by law and diffused through the wide-spread use of commissions, boards and committees and independently elected county officers. The Genesee County Board of Commissioners is in charge of developing and approving county policy and setting the county budget.

The committee next meets on Nov. 16.

Related posts

Michigan Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission Public Hearing


WFLT 1420 AM: 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.


Memorial Day


Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More