Church News Flint Water Crisis Headlines Health and Wellness

Flint Families Can Get Nutritious Food at Mobile Pantry in August

LANSING, Mich. – Flint families may get nutritious food that can limit the effects of lead exposure during mobile food pantry hours set for August at locations throughout Flint.

All mobile food pantry sites distribute foods rich in calcium, vitamin C and iron. Food available in August will include cucumbers, cantaloupe, watermelon, sweet corn, zucchini, peppers, cabbage. More than $300 million has been provided to help the residents of Flint, including this initiative. Food distribution sites remain open while supplies last.

In an effort to better serve residents, afternoon distributions have been scheduled at two new locations: Wednesday, Aug. 14, at 4:30 p.m. at Cathedral of Faith, 6031 Dupont St., and Friday, Aug. 30, at 3 p.m. at Evergreen Apartments, 2310 Devon Lane.

 Other August dates by location are:

  • Greater Holy Temple, 6702 N. Dort Hwy.
    • Thursday, Aug. 1, at 10 a.m.
    • Thursday, Aug. 8, at 10 a.m.
    • Thursday, Aug. 15, at 10 a.m.
    • Thursday, Aug. 22, at 10 a.m.
    • Thursday, Aug. 29, at 10 a.m.
  • Calvary United Methodist Church, 2111 Flushing Road.
    • Saturday, Aug. 3, at 10:30 a.m.
  • Bethel United Methodist Church, 1309 Ballenger Hwy.
    • Monday, Aug. 5, at 10 a.m.
    • Monday, Aug. 12, at 10 a.m.
    • Monday, Aug. 19, at 10 a.m.
    • Monday, Aug. 26, at 10 a.m.
  • Asbury United Methodist Church, 1653 Davison Road.
    • Tuesday, Aug. 6, at 10 a.m.
    • Tuesday, Aug. 13, at 10 a.m.
    • Tuesday, Aug. 20, at 10 a.m.
    • Tuesday, Aug. 27, at 10 a.m.
  • Genesee Community Health, 725 Mason St.
    • Wednesday, Aug. 7, at noon.
    • Thursday, Aug. 8, at noon.
  • Flint Muslim Food Pantry, 4400 S. Saginaw St.
    • Saturday, Aug. 10, at 9 a.m..
  • Salem Lutheran, 2610 Martin Luther King Ave.
    • Wednesday, Aug. 14, at 10 a.m.
  • Greater Holy Temple, 6702 N. Dort Highway.
    • Thursday, Aug. 15, at 10 a.m.
    • Thursday, Aug. 22, at 10 a.m.
  • Luke’s NEW Life Center, 3115 Lawndale Ave.
    • Friday, Aug. 16, at 10 a.m.
  • Second Chance Church, 5306 North St.
    • Saturday, Aug. 17, at 9 a.m.
  • Hispanic Tech Center, 2101 Lewis St.
    • Wednesday, Aug. 21, at 10 a.m.
  • Urban Renaissance Center, 2505 N. Chevrolet Ave.
    • Tuesday, Aug. 27, at 11 a.m.

Flint residents can also pick up free nutritional food at the three Flint Help Center locations. They are Bethel United Methodist Church, 1309 N. Ballenger Highway, open from 10 a.m.-2 p.m. Mondays; Asbury United Methodist Church, 1653 Davison Road, open Tuesdays from 10 a.m.-2 p.m.; and Greater Holy Temple, 6702 N. Dort Highway, open Thursdays from 10 a.m.-2 p.m.

The three help center locations now have more proteins to distribute to Flint residents in addition to the produce that’s available at all locations. Along with the produce available at all locations, the three help center sites will have ground beef. 

This schedule is subject to change, and information about additional food distribution dates will be announced as they are scheduled. For more information or to find out about any changes in the schedule, visit the Food Bank website at www.FBEM.org and find the updated schedule on the Mobile Pantry Distribution page, or call 810-239-4441.

Related posts

Resource Genesee Announces Sybyl Award Recipients

Alline

Flint Families Can Get Nutritious Food at Mobile Food Pantry in December

editor

Flint Registry Goes Live!

editor

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More